Wednesday, 17 July 2013

Waiting On Wednesday #34

Waiting On Wednesday, where we put the spotlight on upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating, is hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.

This week's choice is -

Woken Gods - Gwenda Bond @Twitter
ISBN - 9781908844248
Publisher - Strange Chemistry @Twitter
Expected release date - September 2013
Find - Book Depository/Goodreads


'The more things change…

Five years ago, the gods of ancient mythology awoke all around the world.

The more things stay the same…

This morning, Kyra Locke is late for school because of an argument with her father.

Seventeen-year-old Kyra lives in a transformed Washington, D.C., dominated by the embassies of divine pantheons and watched over by the mysterious Society of the Sun that governs mankind’s relations with the gods. But when rebellious Kyra encounters two trickster gods on her way home, one offering a threat and the other a warning, it turns out her life isn't what it seems. She escapes with the aid of Osborne "Oz" Spencer, a young Society field operative, only to discover that her scholar father has disappeared with a dangerous Egyptian relic. The Society needs the item back, and they aren’t interested in her protests that she knows nothing about it or her father's secrets.

Now Kyra must depend on her wits and the suspect help of scary Sumerian gods, her estranged oracle mother, and, of course, Oz--whose first allegiance is to the Society. She has no choice if she’s going to recover the missing relic and save her father. And if she doesn't? Well, that may just mean the end of the world as she knows it.'
 


From the author of Blackwood comes a fresh, thrilling urban fantasy that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Cassandra Clare, and Rick Riordan. - Goodreads

How fabulous does this sound? I for one can't wait to get my hands on it and have been impatiently waiting for months! Out at the beginning of September hopefully...

4 comments:

  1. Strange Chemistry books are either a hit or miss for me but this one does sound good. Nice pick!
    My Waiting on Wednesday

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ooh I hadn't heard of this one before. Strange Chemistry always has some great books. Hope you enjoy it. Following you via bloglovin. Come visit me here now:

    http://gracebooksoflove.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. i couldn't really get into genda bond's previous novel but i think this one is more my kind of read. awesome pick :)

    my WoW

    -michelle @ Michelle & Leslie's Book Picks

    ReplyDelete
  4. This does sound pretty fabulous. I'll definitely keep my out for this one. I love the original books Strange Chemistry has been putting out. Great pick!
    Natflix&Books' WoW

    ReplyDelete

Comments are great, leave me a link and I'll come visit you!

 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the G'nite Sweetheart kit by Vera Lim Design