Tuesday, 28 July 2015

Top Ten Tuesday #94 - Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds


Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful gals cover at The Broke & The Bookish. This week's topic is -

Top Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds

Well, where do you start? There are so many great book nerd characters out there that I've pretty much forgotten all of them! Here's the ten that really stuck in my mind...

Matilda

Isaac

Mori

Jo

Hermione

Lady Trent

Mo

Liesel

Jess

Elizabeth

Monday, 27 July 2015

Bookmarked... #5


The return of the weekly post letting you all know what I'm reading and have lined up for the week! It's my own version of Sheila at Book Journey's It's Monday What Are You Reading and I have her permission to rename it for my own nefarious reasons :)

Hands up if you thought I'd fallen off the planet? Yeah, me too! I don't even know where to begin except to say sorry - again - for my really crappy blogging this year. I'm hopefully home for a good while now so can get caught up, start posting regularly again, catch up on all my reading and maybe even get back to scheduling blog posts in advance!

I haven't been doing anything exciting while I've been away - apart from LFCC & YALC, enjoyed it this year more than last but there's still things I didn't like and I'm still completely stunned about the totally rude encounters I had with a couple of bloggers. I don't think I'm going to do a write-up post because I think those incidents have colored the whole thing for me sadly. Highlights were finally getting to meet the wonderful amazing Frances Hardinge (!!!), there were photos, she drew geese in my books and she'd heard of my blog!!! Another highlight was meeting the amazing Dawn Kurtagich, author of The Dead House, and bonding over parma violets much to the disgust of Kat Ellis, meeting Cassandra Clare & Sarah Rees Brennan and some fantastic panels. If you asked me now I'd probably say I wouldn't go again, not for YALC anyway, but who knows what next year will bring?

Finished

Arsenic For Tea

Currently Reading


Up Next

Black Cairn Point


Sunday, 26 July 2015

ARC August

Hosted by Octavia & Shelly over at Read Sleep Repeat for the third year running it would be rude of me not to take part! My Netgalley/Edelweiss requests have steadily spiraled out of control so I'm putting my foot down and reading all ARC's all August. Should be easy even if I go a-wandering again because all I need is my Kindle...

Rules:

The rules are very simple
  • It may be a physical ARC or and eARC but it MUST be an ARC
  • Yes it can be an ARC that has released as long as it’s an ARC I’m not going to nit pick much
  • HAVE FUN WITH THIS! Feeling like you are being “forced” to read is the best way turn a fun event into a yucky obligation.
  • Update post! I personally will do a post for each Saturday in August but that’s just me. You can update once a week, every other week or once for the whole darn event. This update can be in the form of a blog or tumblr post, vlog, link to your “ARC August 2015″ shelf or even an instagram pic! I want to make this as easy and low pressure as possible for you.
I've no idea what I'm going to read, I'm thinking maybe I should do a Netgalley version of the TBR jar and do things that way?

If you too are embarrassed by your NG percentage then sign up here!

Wednesday, 15 July 2015

Waiting On Wednesday #128 - Burning Midnight


Waiting On Wednesday, where we put the spotlight on upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating, is hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.

This week's choice is -


Burning Midnight - Will McIntosh
ISBN - 9780553534108
Publisher - Delacorte Press
Release date - February 2 2016
Find - Goodreads

For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave, this debut YA novel from Hugo Award winner Will McIntosh pits four underprivileged teens against an evil billionaire in the race of a lifetime.

Sully is a sphere dealer at a flea market. It doesn’t pay much - Alex Holliday’s stores have muscled out most of the independent sellers - but it helps him and his mom make the rent. No one knows where the brilliant-colored spheres came from. One day they were just there, hidden all over the earth like huge gemstones. Burn a pair and they make you a little better: an inch taller, skilled at math, better-looking. The rarer the sphere, the greater the improvement - and the more expensive the sphere.

When Sully meets Hunter, a girl with a natural talent for finding spheres, the two start searching together. One day they find a Gold - a color no one has ever seen. And when Alex Holliday learns what they have, he will go to any lengths, will use all of his wealth and power, to take it from them.

There’s no question the Gold is priceless, but what does it actually do? None of them is aware of it yet, but the fate of the world rests on this little golden orb. Because all the world fights over the spheres, but no one knows where they come from, what their powers are, or why they’re here.


I've had Love Minus Eighty by Will McIntosh sitting on my TBR for what seems like forever but even though I still haven't read it I was intrigued when I heard he was writing his debut YA novel. I love the idea of spheres giving you talents and can't wait to get my hands on a copy although February still seems like a very long time to wait...

Tuesday, 14 July 2015

July New Release Giveaway!


Welcome to the July New Release Giveaway Hop, hosted by It Starts At Midnight and Librarian Lavender! The hop runs from today through to midnight on July 31 2015. Up for grabs is any new release this month up to the value of $22 from the Book Depository as long as they deliver to your country - find the list of countries here

All you have to do is choose any new release published in July and fill out the rafflecopter!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Check out the linky below for all more blogs taking part, thanks for entering and good luck!

Top Ten Tuesday #93 - Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession


Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful gals cover at The Broke & The Bookish. This week's topic is -

Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

Having been away from home for a few weeks there's more than ten books that have come into my possession all at once! I love coming home to book post...

An Inheritance of Ashes - Review
Read the synopsis for this on Edelweiss and was hooked, can't wait to get started on it!  

Sorcerer to the Crown - Review Copy
Have seen this mentioned everywhere so jumped at the chance to review it. This is my sort of fantasy!

Ink & Bone - Bought
It's about books, it's by Rachel Caine, no more to be said... 

Birdy - Review Copy
Love books about friendships, especially ones that aren't all they appear to be! Hoping to start this one this week!

Nest - Won
I've seen this one mentioned a lot recently recently so was thrilled to win a copy from Viv at Serendipity Reviews

Blood Song - Audiobook
I have read this as a hard copy although Goodreads says I haven't... Giving audiobooks another try (they always send me to sleep) so this is one for the train.

We'll Never Be Apart - Review Copy
Love YA pychological thrillers and this one features twins! Another book for the read soon pile.

Uprooted - Bought
Even though I own a review copy on Kindle I had to buy a hard copy! Probably a contender for book of the year, everyone should read this.

The Wanderers - Review Copy
Having really enjoyed Dark Days I've been stalking Edelweiss waiting for this one to go up!

Letters To Zell - Kindle
Letters To Zell was my Kindle First freebie for June through Amazon. Already read it and loved it! An interesting take on fairy tales.

Wednesday, 24 June 2015

Waiting On Wednesday #127 - Every Heart A Doorway

Waiting On Wednesday, where we put the spotlight on upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating, is hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.

This week's choice is -


Every Heart A Doorway - Seanan McGuire
ISBN - 9780765385505
Publisher - Tor
Release date - April 5 2016

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children

No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests


Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere... else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced... they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.


I'm a huge fan of Seanan McGuire's (aka Mira Grant) writing especially her October Daye books so I'm really excited to read this new novella. It's vaguely reminiscent of Ransom Riggs' Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children series which I absolutely loved!
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the G'nite Sweetheart kit by Vera Lim Design