Wednesday, 20 July 2016

Waiting On Wednesday #167 - The Bear And The Nightingale

Waiting On Wednesday, where we put the spotlight on upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating, is hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.

This week's choice is -


The Bear And The Nightingale - Katherine Arden
ISBN - 9781101885932
Publisher - Del Rey
Release date - January 17 2017

A young woman’s family is threatened by forces both real and fantastical in this debut novel inspired by Russian fairy tales.

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, Pytor hides the gift away and Vasya grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay.


How much do I want to read this?! It has a lot to live up to though as it's been compared to Uprooted, The Night Circus and to Neil Gaiman's work. I absolutely adore Russian fairy tales so I'm sure to love it even if the hype isn't quite met...

Saturday, 16 July 2016

Book Haul #128, Or The One Where I Nearly Succeeded...


Stacking the Shelves is a weekly event hosted on Tynga's Reviews where we can share what new books we've picked up this past week be they bought, borrowed or downloaded. There are also lots of other 'book haul' memes out there for you to choose from!

Two weeks today I'll hopefully be sitting in a writing workshop at ComicCon and fingers crossed won't have spent all my money on Funko Pops! I've been really good this week, the only books I bought were these gorgeous new British Fashion Designer Editions of Beatrix Potter stories for the 150th anniversary. If you follow me on Instagram you'll have already seen my photos and how beautiful they really are. In review titles I finally got my hands on The Women In The Walls by Amy Lukavics and the new Natalie Richards which sounds far creepier than her previous novels...

Bought


The Tale Of Squirrel Nutkin (designed by Preen)
The Tale Of Mrs Tiggy-Winkle (designed by Orla Kiely)

Review

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28321033-one-was-lost?ac=1&from_search=true#

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24245162-unfolding?ac=1&from_search=true#

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25543181-the-family-plot?ac=1&from_search=true

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28367592-the-women-in-the-walls?ac=1&from_search=true#







Thursday, 14 July 2016

July New Release Giveaway!


Welcome to the July 2016 New Release Giveaway Hop, hosted by It Starts At Midnight! The hop runs from today through to midnight on July 31 2016. Up for grabs is any new release this month up to the value of $22 from the Book Depository as long as they deliver to your country - find the list of countries here

All you have to do is choose any new release published in July and fill out the rafflecopter!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Check out the linky for lots of other chances to win, thanks for entering and good luck!

Wednesday, 13 July 2016

Waiting On Wednesday #166 - Chasing Embers

Waiting On Wednesday, where we put the spotlight on upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating, is hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.

This week's choice is -


Chasing Embers - James Bennett
ISBN - 9780316390699
Publisher -Orbit
Release date - September 6 2016
Find - Goodreads 

Behind every myth, there's a spark of truth...

There's nothing special about Ben Garston. He's just a guy with an attitude in a beat-up leather jacket, drowning his sorrows in a downtown bar. Or so he'd have you believe.

What Ben Garston can't let you know is that he was once known as Red Ben. That the world of myth and legend isn't just a fantasy, as we've been led to believe. And he certainly can't let you know the secret of what's hiding just beneath his skin...

But not even Ben knows what kind of hell is about to break loose. A centuries-old rivalry has just resurfaced, and the delicate balance between his world and ours is about to be shattered.


Oooh, could it be he's a dragon??? Can't wait to get my hands on this one! 

PS. Sorry not sorry about another dragon book for Waiting On Wednesday... 


Tuesday, 12 July 2016

Top Ten Tuesday #115 - (Not Very Interesting) Facts About Me...


Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the fabulous girls cover at The Broke & The Bookish. This week's topic is -

Ten Facts About Me

I very rarely talk about anything personal on this blog so here are 10 facts about me  that readers of the Outsider may or may not know. I warn you now, there are no startling revelations!

  1. I collect espresso cups and tea cups & saucers. I never use them as most are too pretty to put coffee or tea in but still, my collection is expanding!
  2. I also collect Funko Pops! This is not a unique thing, I suspect hundreds (if not thousands) of bloggers do as well. My collection has grown in size from 3 two years ago to 56 as of yesterday...
  3. If anything is owl or fox related I have to have it. Seriously! I have totes, socks, pens, journals, mugs and a million other things all with owls and/or foxes on. I'm considering starting to collect sheep-related things thanks to my little blog sheep :)
  4. I'm one of those annoying people that learnt to read before I was three. My mama was a huge reader and encouraged me daily. I thank her every day for teaching me.
  5. My beloved mama died at the end of 2012, she had pancreatic cancer and passed away just 7 weeks after diagnosis.
  6. I have Rheumatoid Arthritis. It's not osteoarthritis (although I have that too) but a disease of the auto-immune system. I have had my left knee joint replaced and both my hips.
  7. I have 2 sisters, all 3 of us have red hair!
  8. I have 4 nephews and 2 nieces, the oldest is 29 and the youngest is 6.
  9. I'm a bookseller, the best job (apart from a librarian) for a bookworm.
  10. I collect horde multiple editions of my favorite books. Pride & Prejudice, Wuthering Heights, The Secret Garden, Alice In Wonderland and Jane Eyre are my biggest collections!
  11. Bonus Fact - I have a tattoo that I got the day I turned 21. I love that I have a tattoo but I really wish I chose something different...

Sunday, 10 July 2016

Book Haul #127, Or The One Where I'm Definitely Not Meant To Be Buying Books...


Stacking the Shelves is a weekly event hosted on Tynga's Reviews where we can share what new books we've picked up this past week be they bought, borrowed or downloaded. There are also lots of other 'book haul' memes out there for you to choose from!

Three weeks today ComicCon will be all but over and hopefully I won't have run out of money! I've been saving since my vacation to France but a large chunk of that is for my hotel. I really don't want to go book buying mad this year but there are a couple of books I'm keeping my fingers crossed for and of course I'll be checking out the Funko Pops! I nearly got away with a book free week but had to buy the Collectors Edition of The BFG with never-seen-before illustrations from Quentin Blake and then I had to pick up a copy of the latest Wells & Wong Mystery by Robin Stevens. Review books wise I was good, just three titles...

Bought

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30753387-the-bfg?ac=1&from_search=true#

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27030027-jolly-foul-play?ac=1&from_search=true#

Review

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24921954-the-thousandth-floor?ac=1&from_search=true

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28957353-nightmares?ac=1&from_search=true#

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30122526-the-secrets-of-wishtide




Wednesday, 6 July 2016

Waiting On Wednesday #165 - The Dragon's Price

Waiting On Wednesday, where we put the spotlight on upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating, is hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.

This week's choice is -


The Dragon's Price (Transference #1) - Bethany Wiggins
ISBN - 9780399549816
Publisher - Crown Books For Young Readers
Release date - February 21 2017
Find - Goodreads

Fans of Julie Kagawa’s Talon and Renee Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn will devour this action-packed fantasy adventure about a girl who chooses to surrender herself to a deadly dragon rather than marry an enemy prince.

When two warring kingdoms unified against a deadly menace laying waste to both their lands, they had to make a choice: vow to marry their heirs to one another, or forfeit their lives to the dragon.

Centuries later, everyone expects the sheltered princess Sorrowlynn to choose the barbarian prince over the fire-breathing beast - everyone, that is, except Sorrow, who is determined to control her own destiny or die trying.

As she is lowered into the dragon’s chamber, she assumes her life is over until Golmarr, the young prince she just spurned, follows her with the hopes of being her hero and slaying the dragon. But the dragon has a different plan. . . .

If the dragon wins, it will be freed from the spell that has bound it to the cave for centuries. If Sorrow or Golmarr vanquish the dragon, the victor will gain its treasure and escape the cave beneath the mountain. But what exactly is the dragon hiding?

There are no safe havens for Sorrow or Golmarr - not even with each other - and the stakes couldn’t be higher as they risk everything to protect their kingdom.


A girl who chooses a dragon over a prince? Yes please! An idiot prince who follows said princess into the dragon's lair? This ought to be fun! But overall, dragons...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the G'nite Sweetheart kit by Vera Lim Design