Saturday, 20 December 2014

Midwinter's Eve Giveaway!


Welcome to the Midwinter's Eve Giveaway Hop hosted by Bookhounds and I Am A Reader, Not A Writer! Up for grabs is any book you like, either YA or Adult and up to the value of $15 from the Book Depository as long as they deliver to your country - find the list of countries here. Think of it as an extra Christmas present that you get to choose :) The hop runs from now through to midnight on December 31st 2013 and simply follow the instructions on the rafflecopter to enter!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Check out the list below for all the other blogs taking part, thanks for entering and good luck!

Book Haul #93


Stacking the Shelves is a weekly event hosted on Tynga's Reviews where we can share what new books we've picked up this past week be they bought, borrowed or downloaded. There are also lots of other 'book haul' memes out there for you to choose from!

This could be a big one... I haven't done a book haul post for a month and as it's the festive season I've gone a bit mad both buying and requesting, never mind the enormous library haul(which I'm going to leave for next week)! At Christmas, for every book I buy someone I seem to be buying one for myself so that's working out quite well so far. I've bought myself a tote bag that I've been drooling over for a while and a special edition of The Miniaturist by Jessi Burton! Garden Spells is a re-buy, I want to read it again before I start First Frost but can't find my original copy.

Bought



Netgalley & Edelweiss



And last but not least...

Little Women tote bag!

Friday, 19 December 2014

Apologies And A Giveaway!

So, I've been an awful blogger over the last few week! I have no excuse except for being exceptionally busy and/or being at home/at my sister's house with no internet. Which has been dreadful... And I can't even say I managed to read more as I didn't have the distraction of the internet.

Anyway, despite my being an absentee blogger I hit a milestone last week. I hit 2000 followers on bloglovin'!!! A huge thank you to everyone who has followed me, you honestly don't know how much it means. In honor of this I've decided to have a giveaway.


Up for grabs is any book mentioned on Bookish Outsider this year (provided it's in print and not over $20) which will come from the Book Depository, check shipping to your country here. The giveaway starts now and is open until midnight on December 27th, simply fill out the rafflecopter to take part!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, 14 December 2014

December New Release Giveaway!

Welcome to the December New Release Giveaway Hop hosted by Book Nerd! The hop runs from today through to midnight on December 31st 2014. Up for grabs is any new release this month up to the value of $20 from the Book Depository as long as they deliver to your country - find the list of countries here.

All you have to do is choose any new release published in December and leave me a comment stating what book you would like (you can change your mind later!) and a way of getting in touch with you if you are the lucky winner (either an email address or Twitter) - following the blog via GFC, email, Linky or Bloglovin', Goodreads or Twitter is not compulsory, just nice!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Check out the list below for all the other blogs taking part, thanks for entering and good luck!

Wednesday, 10 December 2014

Best of 2014 Giveaway!


Welcome to the Best of 2014 Giveaway Hop hosted by Bookhounds and I Am A Reader, Not A Writer! In this hop you can win any title published in 2014 that you think is one of the best books this year! I've read some fantastic books this year by some great authors so you can pick one title from some of the books I've loved this year below. The book will come from the Book Depository and you're eligible to enter as long as they deliver to your country - find the list of countries here. The hop runs from now through to midnight on December 18th 2014 and simply follow the instructions on the rafflecopter to enter!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Check out the linky for lots of other chances to win, thanks for entering and good luck!

Waiting on Wednesday #100 - The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly


Waiting On Wednesday, where we put the spotlight on upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating, is hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.

This week's choice is -

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly - Stephanie Oakes
ISBN - 9780803740709
Publisher - Dial
Expected release date - June 9 2015

With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

'The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.

And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something - but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of - if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.'


The Sacred Lies of Minnow By is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith - and the power of having faith in oneself. - Goodreads


The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is a retelling of the Grimm Brother's tale, The Handless Maiden, and until a couple of weeks ago I had no idea of its existence. Now I do I want Minnow Bly in my grubbly little mitts! It's one of my favorite Grimm tales so can't wait to read Ms Oakes' retelling, hopefully someone will take pity on me and let me read it before June 2015... 

Tuesday, 9 December 2014

Top Ten Tuesday #74 - New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014


Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the fabulous gals cover at The Broke & The Bookish. This week's topic is -

Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014

A lot of new-to-me authors were with first books so will feature in my list of debut authors I've read this year - one of my Christmas posts going up later this month. This is a mix of established and debut authors who are new to me, really struggled to do this as I seem to be more of a creature of habit than I realized!

 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the G'nite Sweetheart kit by Vera Lim Design