Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Waiting On Wednesday #117 - Phoenix Rising


Waiting On Wednesday, where we put the spotlight on upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating, is hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.

This week's choice is -



Phoenix Rising - Bryony Pearce
ISBN - 9781847154507
Publisher - Stripes Publishing
Release date - June 1 2015

In a future world where fossil fuels have run out and democracy has collapsed, an outlawed pirate crew fight for survival on their ship, the Phoenix, kept afloat by whatever they can salvage or scavenge on the debris-filled seas. Toby has never known anything other than life onboard the Phoenix and he's desperate for adventure. But when trouble comes hunting the Phoenix down, Toby realizes that what you wish for isn't always what you want. He meets beautiful Ayla from the Banshee, a rival pirate ship and sworn enemy of the Phoenix, and his world is thrown into disorder. How can he know who to trust and what to believe? The future rests on him making an impossible choice...

A gripping novel, perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Eoin Colfer and Suzanne Collins.

I absolutely loved Bryony's first two books, Angel's Fury and The Weight of Souls, so am really excited to read her latest novel. It sounds completely different to both of her other books and it's about pirates! 

7 comments:

  1. Dystopian PIRATES!!! AWESOME!! I haven't heard of this before now, so thank you for sharing it! Great pick!

    Michelle @ Michelle's Minions

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  2. I had to look the cover again before I notice the faces. Wow!!! (no pun intended) LOL!!


    Orsayor (Book Referees - Waiting on Wednesday)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I don't think I've read any of this author's books before but the pirate aspect and the rival girl is really pulling me in :) Thanks for sharing!

    My WoW
    Zareena @ The Slanted Bookshelf

    ReplyDelete
  4. I read The Weight of Souls too and loved it, so I'm going to need to check this one out. I hope you enjoy the book! Check out my WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm all for pirates! Sounds very good. I hope you enjoy it as much as the other two. =)
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete

Comments are great, leave me a link and I'll come visit you!

 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the G'nite Sweetheart kit by Vera Lim Design