Wednesday, 10 December 2014

Waiting on Wednesday #100 - The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly


Waiting On Wednesday, where we put the spotlight on upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating, is hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.

This week's choice is -

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly - Stephanie Oakes
ISBN - 9780803740709
Publisher - Dial
Expected release date - June 9 2015

With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

'The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.

And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something - but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of - if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.'


The Sacred Lies of Minnow By is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith - and the power of having faith in oneself. - Goodreads


The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is a retelling of the Grimm Brother's tale, The Handless Maiden, and until a couple of weeks ago I had no idea of its existence. Now I do I want Minnow Bly in my grubbly little mitts! It's one of my favorite Grimm tales so can't wait to read Ms Oakes' retelling, hopefully someone will take pity on me and let me read it before June 2015... 

5 comments:

  1. I can't wait to read this one. Great pick! :)
    Here's my WoW

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm on the fence about this one, but it looks really really good. Great pick. here's mine

    My $30 giveaway is still going if you're interested.

    ReplyDelete
  3. What an interesting choice :)
    Haven't heard of this Grimm's tale yet, but it sounds definitely worth reading - so thanks for sharing and enjoy

    Yours
    Smarty

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is big on my watchlist as well. Hope it'll meet all expectations! My WoW

    ReplyDelete

Comments are great, leave me a link and I'll come visit you!

 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the G'nite Sweetheart kit by Vera Lim Design